About us

The School of Mathematical Sciences was established in 1989 with the aim of unifying activities in the mathematical sciences across The Australian National University. It was renamed the Mathematical Sciences Institute (MSI) in 2002.

MSI aims for research and educational outcomes of the highest possible quality. This is achieved by world wide collaborative research; nurturing quality students; increasing the international profile and the efficiency of the organisation ensuring administration and support functions effectively.

MSI fulfills both a national and international role as a 'research institute' in mathematical sciences. MSI works cooperatively with the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI) and has cooperation agreements with international centres such as the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), Fujitsu Laboratories of Europe Limited, The Mathematical Sciences Center, Tsinghua University and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences. MSI regularly hosts international conferences in mathematics, statistics and applications. They coordinate an extensive visitor program, which funds collaborative research and networking with researchers from other institutions in all areas of the mathematics.

MSI delivers undergraduate and Honours teaching in mathematics at ANU, as well as supporting an extensive postgraduate research program. It offers a range of courses and programs, catering to students who wish to study the subject for its own interest, its applications, or a mixture of both.

The office of the Australian Mathematical Society is also housed within MSI.

News »

Find out what's been happening at MSI - announcements of awards and activities.


Find out more about our research and education

Equity & diversity »

The Mathematical Sciences Institute (MSI) values diversity and is committed to ensuring equality of opportunity for all staff, students and visitors.

Job opportunities

Check out the current vacancy listings on the ANU Human Resources website.

Updated:  24 April 2018/Responsible Officer:  Director/Page Contact:  School Manager