AustMS meeting 2016


5–8 December 2016


Australian National University, Canberra


 Administrative officer
 +61 2 6125 2897

The 60th annual meeting of the Australian Mathematical Society will be held by the Mathematical Sciences Institute at the Australian National University from the 5 - 8 December 2016.

AustMS AGM Report (PDF, 1.75MB)

AustMS AGM Agenda (PDF, 225KB)

Early Career Workshop

Women in Mathematics Group

Session timetables

Conference timetable

Session timetable

Invited speakers


*The deadline for abstract submssion is Friday 18 November.


​Special sessions


Organisers: James East (Western Sydney), Anne Thomas (Sydney), 

Algebraic Topology, Category Theory, K-theory

Organisers: Vigleik Angeltweit (ANU), Steve Lack (Macquarie), Scott Morrison (ANU)

Applied Mathematics, Industrial Mathematics

Organisers: Mark Nelson (Wollongong), Harvi Sidhu (ADFA)


Organisers: Amy Glen (Murdoch), Jamie Simpson (Curtin)

Complex Analysis and Geometry

Organisers: Adam Harris, Gerd Schmalz (UNE)

Computational Mathematics

Organisers: Markus Hegland, Qinian Jin, Stephen Roberts (ANU)

Dynamical Systems, Ergodic theory

Organisers: Cecilia Gonzalez-Tokman (Queensland), Petrus van Heijster (QUT)

Functional Analysis, Operator Algebras, Noncommutative Geometry

Organisers: Adam Rennie, Aidan Sims (Wollongong)

Geometric Analysis

Organisers: Ben Andrews (ANU), Julie Clutterbuck (Monash)

Graph Algorithms

Organisers: Vladimir Ejov, Michael Haythorpe (Flinders University)

Harmonic Analysis, Spectral Theory

Organisers: Xuan Duong (Macquarie), Pierre Portal (ANU), Andrew Hassell (ANU), Adam Sikora (Macquarie)

Mathematical and Computational Optimisation

Organisers: Regina Burachik (Uni SA), Jeya Jeyakumar, Guoyin Li (UNSW)

Mathematical Biology

Organisers: Peter Kim (Sydney), Zoltan Neufeld (Queensland)

Mathematical Physics

Organisers: Vladimir Mangazeev (ANU), David Ridout (Melbourne)

Mathematics Education

Organisers: Deborah King (Melbourne)

Number Theory

Organisers: Michael Coons (Newcastle), Alex Ghitza (Melbourne), David Harvey (UNSW), Tim Trudgian (ANU)

Partial Differential Equations

Organisers: Florica Cirstea (Sydney), Yihong Du (UNE), James McCoy (Wollongong) 

Probability Theory, Stochastic Processes

Organisers: Andrea Collevecchio (Monash), Giang Nguyen (Adelaide)

Representation Theory

Organisers: Anthony Licata (ANU), Oded Yacobi (Sydney)


Organisers: Robert Haraway (Sydney), Joan Licata (ANU), Clement Maria (Queensland)



Updated:  26 April 2018/Responsible Officer:  Director/Page Contact:  School Manager