Special year 2018: Analysis

Special year 2018

The special year 2018 will bring together experts in a range of areas of mathematical analysis (inc. harmonic, spectral, microlocal, geometric, stochastic). It will start with a large International conference celebrating the mathematical legacy of Alan McIntosh, who had a profound influence on the field of harmonic analysis, and who played a key role in shaping the Australian Analysis community. It will then continue with a satellite conference on harmonic analysis of partial differential equations, held in Marseille (France), also in memory of Alan McIntosh. The other key events will be specialised workshops in microlocal analysis, and in stochastic analysis, preceded by courses aimed at Honours and graduate students.

The Special Year will showcase and encourage collaborations among the Australian Analysis groups (recently supported by the regular Analysis and PDE meetings; as well as International collaborations, such as the long standing tradition of strong collaboration between Australian and French analysts (recently supported by the ANU/CNRS LIA in Analysis and Geometry). In particular, the Special Year will feature research visits and talks by some of the best mathematical analysts in the World.


    Satellite Conference

    Conference in harmonic analysis of elliptic and parabolic PDE, 23 - 27 April 2018

    This satellite conference is organised at the CIRM (Marseille, France).  It is dedicated to the memory of Alan McIntosh, and aims to present a range of recent advances in harmonic analysis of partial differential equations. These advances are based on a common circle of ideas, but are happening at such a rapid pace that no expert has yet been able to develop a global vision of how the field is evolving. By bringing together some of the leading experts in the field, this conference aims to collectively develop such a vision. By sharing this development with a large number of early career participants, the conference also aims to ensure that the domain remains vibrant and innovative. The main topics are the following :

    • Differential operators with  $L^{\infty}$ coefficients, and singular integrals theory beyond the Calder\'on-Zygmund framework.>
    • First order differential systems, Dirac operators, and Hodge theory in $L^p$.
    • Adapted function spaces for rough differential operators (tents, Hardy, BMO, and Besov spaces).
    • Elliptic boundary value problems on Lipschitz domains.
    • Parabolic PDE with $L^{\infty}$ coefficients, and their stochastic analogues.
    • Navier-Stokes equations.


    Pierre Portal (Analysis & Geometry, MSI, Australian National University)

    Sylvie Monniaux (Universite Aix-Marseilles)


    • Pascal Auscher (Université Paris Sud)
    • Hajer Bahouri (Université Paris Est)
    • Dorothee Frey (Delft University of Technology)
    • Isabelle Gallagher (Université Paris 7)
    • Steve Hofmann (University of Missouri)
    • Svitlana Mayboroda (University of Minnesota)
    • ​Stefanie Petermichl (Université Toulouse 3)
    • Jill Pipher (Brown University)
    • Andreas Rosen (Chalmers University)
    • David Rule (Linköping University)
    • Mark Veraar (TU Delft)


    Microlocal analysis and its applications workshop (PDF, 181 KB)

    Harmonic analysis conference (PDF, 304 KB)


    Macarena Rojas


    +61 2 6125 1157


    No events are currently scheduled.

    Past events